FAQ

ABOUT THE CITY I&T GRAND CHALLENGE

The City Innovation and Technology (I&T) Grand Challenge (“The Grand Challenge”) is an I&T competition that invites the participation of anyone from primary students, secondary students and tertiary students, to start-ups, research teams, entrepreneurs, the general public and people from outside of Hong Kong. Participants will submit solutions to solve two challenges that affect Hongkongers’ everyday lives, namely I&T for Nature (Yama) and I&T for Community (Community Wellness) . For people who enjoy tackling big picture issues, discovering creative solutions and moving the city forward into the future, the Grand Challenge is the perfect place to put creativity and innovative skills to the test. 

Submitted solutions will be assessed based on criteria including user & community benefits, technology innovativeness & uniqueness, feasibility of prototyping & trials, team’s capability & entrepreneurship  (Please refer to Terms and Conditions for details). Winners will have the chance to receive mentorship and shadow startups and advisors. Selected solutions may even be productised, featured in exhibitions and roadshows, and enter incubation programmes. The Grand Challenge will also organise a series of workshops, seminars and activities to promote I&T amongst a broader audience besides the participants.

GENERAL ELIGIBILITY

Both Open Group and University/Tertiary Institute Group are open for international participation. For Secondary School Group and Primary School Group, participants must be attending any secondary or primary school registered in Hong Kong throughout the entire event period.

Yes. We accept participation from all walks of life. All students enrolling in full-time, half-day, part-time or evening courses are eligible to take part in the Grand Challenge. Part-time students aged 18 or above are advised to participate in the Open Group.

As long as all the requirements in your selected group(s) have been fulfilled, you are eligible to participate.

Participants can submit idea(s) as an individual or a team of up to 5 persons.

For Open Group and University/Tertiary Group, the team representative is allowed to change team member composition BEFORE submission. All team members are required to sign a declaration that they duly authorise the team representative to act on their behalf in relation to the Grand Challenge Application submission and agree to be bound by all actions taken by the team representative in relation to the Grand Challenge. 

The submission is considered qualified ONLY when all required information and documents are correctly included in the submission, including necessary declaration and consent forms from team members etc. Any incomplete or inconsistent information or documents may result in disqualification without further notice. 

As long as the idea in each submission are different, there is no limitation on the number of idea submissions each participant or team can submit.

There is no limitation on the number of teams you join. However, each participant can only participate in any ONE of the groups.

No, identical submissions will not be accepted.

No further modification will be allowed once submitted the submission forms.

Yes, we understand some solutions can be applied to multiple competitions and it is acceptable to submit the same ideas to the Grand Challenge.

If submissions (the proposals, products and/or ideas themselves) are PRESENTLY receiving any DIRECT financial support from any subvented organisations/institutions of the Government, participants will be required to submit supplemental information on the funding received and its details and scopes related to prototyping and trial at a later stage to explain whether there is any considerable difference in terms of the funding scope. In principle, identical submissions should not be doubly funded by the Government.

Besides, participation is accepted if the recipient of financial support is the company / start-up but is not the Competing Project. In other words, company / start-up under HKSTP Programmes such as Ideation, Incubation or Cyberport Programmes such as Micro Fund, Incubation etc. are welcome to participate.

For further details, please refer to T&C Section 3. Submission.

Projects or ideas that are presently receiving any direct financial support from any Government department or Government quangos shall not be eligible to participate as this would potentially result in the Government double funding the projects or ideas. However, project or ideas developed by staff of the Government departments or Government quangos with their personal resources and time are welcome to participate.

For further details, please refer to T&C Section 3. Submission.

Any solution is eligible to be included in the submission if the solution addresses at least one of the Grand Challenge’s sub-themes, and is either:
(a) based on a new and innovative technology in the concept or development stage; or 
(b) an innovative application of existing / mature technology.

Applications must comply with the specified formats and word limits. The Organiser and/or the Organising Partner reserves the right to exercise its discretion for assessment.

NO, Secondary School Group and Primary School Group participants can submit ideas through submission form directly. Account registration is ONLY required for Open Group and University/Tertiary Institute Group participants.

Please refer to “The Theme” page on Grand Challenge official website for detail description of Sub-themes and Scopes included in the competition. Ideas fall outside of the scopes will be disqualified.

Same idea can only be submitted once under 1 sub-theme. 

OPEN GROUP and UNIVERSITY/TERTIARY GROUP

Each participant can only participate in any one of the Groups. Each email address can only be registered for one account under one group. Please ensure you have registered for your preferred group as it cannot be amended after registration. 

A confirmation email will be sent to the email address you provided after you have submitted the registration form.

Upon successful registration, a confirmation email will be sent to participants’ mailbox automatically. Your email provider may have mistakenly filtered our messages to your spam or junk folder; thus, you should check your spam or junk folder as well. If the confirmation email is not found, please contact us by email at enquiry.hkcitygc@hkstp.org

Each team can nominate ONE team member as representative to register an account, other member information will be input in team member(s) section in the submission form with email contacts for related consent and application confirmation use.

After registered an account, you can submit your ideas any time before the deadline.

All documents should be uploaded via the participant’s dashboard of the Grand Challenge website before the deadline.

SECONDARY SCHOOL GROUP and PRIMARY SCHOOL GROUP

Any participant under eighteen (18) years old must have the consent of his or her parent, legal guardian, or teacher to agree to his or her participation in the Grand Challenge. A consent form needs to be downloaded and filled out to complete the registration process.

You can email to admin@citytechgc.hk for any change or enquiry.

FREQUENTLY USED FORM

For Open Group or University/Tertiary Institute Group, please download “Declaration Form for Team Representative and Team Member(s)”, “Consent Form for Participants under 18 years old”.

 

For Secondary School Group or Primary School Group, please download “School Group Consent Form for Participants under 18 years old”.

Login

常見問題

關於「城市創科大挑戰」

「城市創科大挑戰」(「大挑戰」)是一個嶄新的創科比賽。不論是小學生、中學生、大專生;是初創公司、研究團隊、企業家或是普羅市民,甚至香港以外的人士,任何人都可以就著「山系(山人有計)」和「社區關愛(幫人有計)」兩個議題提供創科方案,幫助城市和市民生活上遇上的難題。對於有興趣解決重大議題、發掘創新解決方案,並推動這個城市向前邁進的朋友,大挑戰正是讓各位發揮創意和創新能力的理想平台。

提交的參賽方案將根據以下標準進行評審,包括對用戶和社區帶來的裨益、科技的創新性和獨特性、原型和試用的可行性,以及團隊的能力和創業精神(詳細資訊請參閱條款和細則)。優勝者將有機會接受導師指導,並與初創企業和顧問共事,部分優秀創科方案更有機會被採用或在展覽中展出,讓其創科方案得以早日實踐。大挑戰同時會舉辦一連串工作坊、講座及活動推廣創科,除了參賽者以外,讓更多人從中有所得著。

一般參賽資格

公開組和大學/大專院校組均歡迎海外人士參與。而中學組及小學組的參賽者必須在整個比賽期間就讀於本地註冊的小學或中學。

可以,我們接受社會各界人士參與。所有報讀全日制、半日制、兼讀或夜間課程的學生都有資格參加大挑戰。年滿18歲或以上的兼讀學生建議參加公開組。

只要滿足所選組別中的所有要求,你就有資格參加。

參賽者可以個人或最多5人之團隊參賽。

對於公開組和大學/大專院校組,團隊代表在提交之前可以更改團隊成員組合。所有團隊成員都需要簽署一份聲明,正式授權團隊代表代理他們提交參賽大挑戰,並同意受團隊代表在大挑戰相關事宜上所採取的一切行動所約束。

只有當所有必須的資料和文件已經正確地提交,包括來自團隊成員的聲明和同意書等,該提交才被視為合資格。任何不完整或不一致的資料或文件可能會導致被取消資格,而不會另行通知。

只要每個提交的方案内容不同,我們沒有限制個人或團隊提交方案的數目。

我們沒有限制你可以參加的團隊數目。不過,每位參賽者只能參與其中一個組別。

不可以,想法相同的提交將不被接受。

一旦提交了參賽表格,將不接受任何修改。

可以,我們明白有些方案適用於多個比賽,我們接受這類方案來參加大挑戰。

如果提交的建議書、產品及/或意念目前正在接受任何資助機構/院校的任何直接財政支援,參加者需要在後期提交有關所獲資助及其與原型製作及試用相關的詳細信息的補充資料,以解釋在資助範圍方面是否顯著不同。原則上,政府不會對相同的提交進行雙重資助。

此外,如果財政支援的接受者是公司/初創企業,而不是參賽項目本身,則可獲接受參加大挑戰。換句話說,我們歡迎香港科技園公司旗下計劃(如Ideation、創業培育計劃等)或數碼港旗下計劃(如創意微型基金、培育計劃等)的公司/初創企業參加。

詳情請參閱條款和細則的第3項“提交參賽方案”。

目前正接受政府部門或政府公營機構直接財政支援的項目或意念將不符合參加資格,因為這可能導致政府對項目或意念進行雙重資助。不過,如屬政府部門或政府公營機構員工利用自己的個人資源和時間開發的項目或意念,則歡迎參加大挑戰。

詳情請參閱條款和細則的第3項“提交參賽方案”。

合資格的參賽方案必須最少針對大挑戰的一個副題,並符合以下其中一項:

(a) 基於處於概念或正在開發階段的全新及創新科技;或

(b) 針對現有或成熟的科技進行的創新應用。

參賽方案必須符合指定的格式規定和字數限制,主辦機構及/或合辦夥伴保留使用其酌處權進行評審的權利。

不是,中學組和小學組的參賽者可以直接通過表格提交方案。只有公開組和大學/大專院校組的參賽者必須登記帳戶。

請參閱大挑戰官方網站的「主題」頁面,了解比賽副題和範圍的詳細描述。超出已設定範圍的想法將不合資格參賽。

相同想法在同一個副題下只能提交一次。

公開組及大學/大專院校組

每位參賽者只能參加其中一個組別。每個電郵地址只能在一個組別下登記一個帳戶。因為一旦登記後無法修改,請確保你已經登記了你所選的組別。

當你提交登記賬戶表格後,我們將會發送確認郵件至你提供的電郵地址。

成功登記後,系統將自動向參賽者的郵箱發送確認郵件。你的電郵供應商可能會郵件誤分為垃圾郵件或垃圾郵件文件夾,因此你應該檢查您的垃圾郵件或垃圾郵件文件夾。如果找不到確認郵件,請發送電郵至enquiry.hkcitygc@hkstp.org聯繫我們。

每個團隊可以指定一名團隊成員作為代表來登記帳戶,其他成員的資料將在提交表格的「團隊成員」部分輸入,並提供電郵聯繫方式以供相關同意和參賽確認使用。

在登記帳戶後,你可以在截止日期前的任何時間提交參賽方案。

所有文件應在截止日期前通過大挑戰網站上的參賽者儀表板上傳。

中學組及小學組

任何未滿十八歲的參賽者必須獲得其父母、法定監護人或老師的同意,才能參加大挑戰。需要下載並填寫一份同意書以完成登記流程。

如有任何更改或查詢,你可以發送電子郵件至admin@citytechgc.hk

常用表格

公開組及大學/大專院校組,請下載「團隊代表和團隊成員聲明」和「18歲以下參賽者同意書」。

 

中學組或小學組,請下載「18歲以下參賽者學校組同意書」。

登入